What Happens If You Get Arrested For DWI in Louisiana
Getting arrested for dwi louisiana can have far-reaching consequences that affect your personal and professional life. A conviction on your record can impact your ability to get a job, strain relationships and add up to major monetary burdens. It can also result in a license suspension, especially if you live far from work or don’t have reliable public transportation.
In Louisiana, a first offense DWI is considered a misdemeanor and punishable with fines, jail time and probation. The state’s legal limit for BAC is 0.08%, but if you are suspected of being impaired by alcohol or drugs you can be arrested even if your BAC is below the legal limit.
If it is your second or third offense, the penalties get much steeper. A felony DWI in Louisiana requires mandatory incarceration and fines up to $5000. In addition, a court may order you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and complete an alcohol education class. The DMV will revoke your license for 2-years and you’ll need to pay a reinstatement fee and file an SR22 form with the state showing that you carry financial responsibility.
The last thing you want to do is go through this difficult and stressful process without an experienced attorney. A skilled DWI attorney can ensure that your case is presented in the best light possible. They can challenge the evidence brought forward by the prosecutor and make sure that your rights are protected in court. They can also assist you in filing for a hearing to save your license.